Family Time

Lately we’ve been able to spend a lot more time with Matthew’s mom and that side of the family than we usually do and it’s been soo fun. When Matthew went hunting his Mom Summer brought the two youngest to hang out with Rylee and I. I got to show off my house and then we all went to Lunch at La Casita. We took the kids to the new splash pad in Thatcher and got snow cones. The little ones loved playing with Mish even though Lily was a little bit afraid of her getting too close. She was pulling a string around the living room but as soon as the cat got a foot near her she would drop the string and run away as fast as she could go. It was super fun having them down in Thatcher.

IMG_0389
This is Matthews youngest brother and he can melt your heart with that little smile of his. Its fun having younger siblings since I was one of the youngest in my family and I am so excited that I get to be a part of his life as he grows up!

This weekend we got to hang out with them again when we went camping in Young for the Ford family reunion (Matthew’s moms family). They all live up in the Gilbert area so I haven’t been able to spend a lot of quality time with them and this weekend was perfect getting to know all of them better. We were only able to go up for two days because of work but it was totally worth it.

We stayed in a cabin that belongs to Matthew’s great aunt, a big two story house surrounded by tall trees,  a little stream, and lots of places for the kids to explore. There was a fun tree swing that we all took multiple turns throughout the weekend swinging on and a play set the younger kids enjoyed. They have a trampoline and endless places for the kids to build forts.

My favorite thing that they didn’t have up there was cell phone service. It was SO nice going up and just having people not be on their phones the whole time. We actually had real conversations, played games, and did crafts. Nowadays I see cell phones taking up too much of everyone’s lives, as well as my own, and it was really nice to have a weekend away from them. Matthew left his in the car the whole time and mine was dead (which I’m a little sad about because I only got a couple pictures)

IMG_0463
One of the only pictures I got was Scout (Matthews little cousin) with Lily (Matthews youngest sister). These two are inseparable always singing and bossing the boys around. They don’t get much cuter than these girls!

It was nice to get to know Matthew’s aunts, uncles, and little cousins better as we shot BB guns, sang around the campfire and just sat on the deck and talked. I am so grateful Matthew was raised in such a good family. It makes being  his wife so much easier that I don’t have to deal with crazy family drama.

We can’t wait until we can all get together again but for now I’m happy to be home for a little bit!

Leave a Reply

