Pre-Wedding Fun

I know last time I said all I had to do was wait for the wedding…I lied, just a little. I also had to PARTY and go through the temple (which was better than any party I’ll ever go to)

I got to celebrate twice before my big day. The first with all my college girl friends at an awesome bachelorette party Shiann threw for me and a second time at a bridal shower thrown by my incredible sisters.

My bachelorette party was full of chocolate covered strawberries, sparkling cider, dancing, and embarrassing lingerie. Shiann decorated, and planned it perfectly. It was such a fun night with just the girls before I was going to get married and move away from all of them. She asked Matthew some questions beforehand and then asked me  the same questions seeing if we got the same answers, I’d say I did pretty well. She even got me a piñata to break open filled with…well I’ll just let you use your imagination! Let’s just say I am glad I got all that out of the way before I had to open presents at my bridal shower with my mom, cousins, sister, aunts, and Matthews side of the family! That could have been really embarrassing. I never knew this but apparently I get super embarrassed when I have to open gifts containing lacey clothing in front of people. Glad I figured that out! Thankfully my bridal shower wasn’t anything like that.

My sisters made decorations and used them around Janae, one of my older sisters, house. Everything was over the top cute.  The salad bar and treats they made were delicious.  A lot of family I hadn’t seen in a while came to celebrate with me and it was fun to be back together again. I opened gifts and played a game similar to what I played at my bachelorette party, where I had to answer questions my sisters had previously asked Matthew. However this time there was a twist, if I got the answer wrong I had to put a piece of gum in my mouth. I am ashamed to say at the end of the game I had a wad of bubbilicious in my mouth. (oops)

The morning of my bridal shower was the part of the day I’ll never forget though. I was able to go to the Mesa Arizona Temple and take out my endowments. I chose to go through the Mesa temple because my entire childhood that was the temple I dreamed about getting married in. As a little girl it looked like a castle and I couldn’t wait to go inside. Well when I finally got to go inside it really was like a dream come true.

I had so much support with me that day inside the temple. So many siblings, cousins, aunts and uncles, grandparents, and parents from mine and Matthews’s side of the family came to be there for me. I cannot explain the feelings I had while being surrounded by my family, my love, and all of his family in the house of the Lord. It truly was an amazing experience and I am blessed to be a part of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, where I can be an eternal family with the ones I love because of the temple.  If you haven’t been to the temple yet, I promise you it is worth it. Stay clean, stay worth, not only does Heavenly Father want you to be able to go inside the temple, I can promise that once you go inside YOU will want to continue going to the temple as often as you can.

IMG_8708

Now that all of that was done, all I really had to do (I promise) was wait.

Also I made a little video of my pre-wedding parties, nothing too special (I’m definitely not a videographer) just having some fun. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

