Matthew & Sally

My name is Sally Stover Evans. Matthew, my now husband, and I recently sealed the deal and got married.Then quickly, as in the very next day, we packed up and moved all the way to Seattle. Far, far away from family, friends, actually anyone we know. He is currently selling pest control and that leaves me, Sally, all alone in Seattle. For the the time being I have no sense of direction or any idea where anything is located. I am praying that I figure that all out sooner than later but for the sake of my sanity, sitting inside my apartment all day isn’t doing me any good, I decided to start writing to help pass the time while Matthew is at work. Secretly it’s also for my mom who is constantly wanting every single detail of my day, asking me to send her pictures and constantly telling me to keep a journal of everything I do here. So here you go mom, you’re welcome and I love you.

I’m going to start at the beginning. This is Matthew:

117(isn’t he handsome??)

Matthew and I met through a mutual friend (thank you Shiann, we love you) not intentionally though. Last May Matthew and and a group of his high school friends decided to go out and eat at a local favorite Mexican restaurant in Thatcher called La Casita. Most of the boys had just finished serving full time missions for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and this was in some way a Thatcher High School reunion for them. Everyone knew everyone, and then there was me, just Shiann’s tag along she brought because she knows how much I love Mexican food. Nothing special happened that night, I don’t think we actually even talked but then the next week we randomly ran into each other at Diamondbacks baseball game. After that we didn’t see each other for the rest of the summer. I was dating someone else at that time and if i’m being honest didn’t think about Matthew that summer at all. He on the other hand kept telling people that he was going to date me. Shiann insistently told him I had a boyfriend and wasn’t planning on coming back to EA, but that didn’t matter to him. He somehow was going to date me. Through a series of what I thought were misfortunate events (looking back I realized they were just taking me to where I was supposed to be) I ended up back at Eastern Arizona College recently single and not ready to date anyone especially Shiann’s friend Matt that kept trying to talk to me every chance he got.  I have to give it to him, this guy was persistent. Finally one night after Shiann’s volleyball game I told him he could come over and we would hang out. As soon as I got home my roommates told me they didn’t want anyone coming over because they had homework and were trying to study. I text Matt and told him I was really sorry but we couldn’t hang out. He so kindly replied with “If you didn’t want to hang out with me you should have just told me at the game”. OUCH. *Sidenote I promise I really wasn’t trying to hurt his feelings*. I told him we could go somewhere else, he suggested Sonic. So off to Sonic we went, me not trying to impress him at all and him in full “get the girl” mode. I mean I honestly didn’t want anything to do with boys. I wore leggings and a baggy t-shirt. I talked about my ex-boyfriend, basically everything you could do to make yourself undesirable I did. Matthew wasn’t having it though and when I tried to end the night early because I had to drive to my hometown the next morning, he offered to drive me that night. It was 11:30 PM and he was offering to drive me an hour and forty-five minutes just so I could pick up a piece of paper. I should have know then this wasn’t just going to be a one night hangout.

3 thoughts on “Matthew & Sally

  1. Sally, I love this idea, because like our mother, I need all the details, except I hear them second hand from moms memory after she hears them from you.!!! So I love that I can stock you guys on your fun little adventure!

    Like

Leave a Reply

